The GNI Board of Directors is responsible for the strategic direction and fiduciary operations of the initiative. The GNI Board is composed of ten representatives from companies, five from civil society organizations, two from the academic community, two from the investor community, and an Independent Chair. There is one additional seat for an academic or investor representative, alternating between the two constituencies every 18 months. Each board member also designates an alternate board member from within its organization or constituency.

The following members currently serve on the GNI Board:

Independent Chair
David Kaye

Vice Chair
Agustina Del Campo

ICT Companies

Miranda Sissons, Meta
Lewis Segall, Google
Steve Crown, Microsoft/LinkedIn
Fiona Cura-Pitre, Nokia
Yves Nissim, Orange
Anita Househam, Telenor Group
Patrik Hiselius, Telia Company
Nicole Karlebach, Verizon
Moira Oliver, Vodafone Group
Logan Smith, Yahoo

Civil Society Organizations

Greg Nojeim, Center for Democracy & Technology
Lillian Nalwoga, CIPESA
Lea Kaspar, Global Partners Digital
Melody Patry, Internews
Mishi Choudhary, Software Freedom Law Center India

Academics and Academic Organizations

Jessica Fjeld, Berkman Klein Center for Internet and Society at Harvard University
Eduardo Bertoni, (Independent)
K.S. Park, Korea University Law School (Independent)


Adam Kanzer, BNP Paribas Asset Management
Lauren Compere, Boston Common Asset Management

The following members serve as alternate board members:

ICT Company Alternates

Lydia Hopton, BT Group
Théo Jaekel, Ericsson
Alex Warofka, Meta
Alexandria Walden, Google
Bernard Shen, Microsoft/LinkedIn
Sarah Altschuller, Verizon
Dorothee D’Herde, Vodafone Group

Civil Society Organizations Alternates

Usama Khilji, Bolo Bhi
Torsha Sarkar, Centre for Internet & Society
María Paz Canales, Derechos Digitales

Deborah Brown, Human Rights Watch
Magnus Ag, International Media Support

Academics and Academic Organizations Alternates

Jhalak Kakkar, Centre for Communications Governance at National Law University
Caroline Kaeb, Zicklin Center for Business Ethics Research at The Wharton School (Independent)

Vivek Krishnamurthy, University of Ottawa (Independent)

Investors Alternates

Emilie Westholm, Folksam

See the Board of Directors (2017-2020)