GNI Board of Directors

Tuesday, August 2, 2016 - 11:58

Board of Directors 

The primary purpose of the Global Network Initiative's Board of Directors is to further the Principles and to oversee the organization to fulfill the vision of the GNI. 

The Board is composed of ten representatives from companies, five from non-governmental organizations, two from the academic community, two from the investor community, and an Independent Chair. There is one additional seat for an academic or investor representative, alternating between the two constituencies every 18 months. Each Board member may also designate an alternate Board member from within its organization or constituency. 

The Following members serve on the GNI Board: 

Independent Chair 

Mark Stephens, CBE 

ICT Companies

Lewis Segall


Andrew O'Connell


Steve Crown

Microsoft / LinkedIn 

Nicole Karlebach


Yves Nissim


Laura Okkonen


Sidsela Nyebak

Telenor Group 

Patrik Hiselius

Telia Company 

Annette Fergusson

Vodafone Group

Civil Society Organizations

Cynthia Wong

Human Rights Watch

Robert Mahoney

Committee to Protect Journalists

Greg Nojeim

Center for Democracy & Technology

Jodie Ginsberg

Index on Censorship

Kat Duffy


Academics and Academic Organizations 

Vivek Krishnamurthy

Berkman Klein Center

Meg Roggensack

Georgetown University (Independent)

K.S. Park 

Korea University Law School (Independent) 


Bennett Freeman

EIRIS Conflict Risk Network 

Adam Kanzer

Domini Impact Investments LLC 


The Following members serve as Alternate Board Members:

ICT Company Alternates  

Alex Warofka


Alexandria Walden


Bernard Shen

Microsoft / LinkedIn 

Katie Shay


Phillip Maloch

Telia Company 

Christoph Steck 


Mai Olgard

Telenor Group

Matthew Peacock

Vodafone Group

Silvia Garrigo


Civil Society Organization Alternates

Arvind Ganesan

Human Rights Watch

Emma Llansó

Center for Democracy & Technology 

Farieha Aziz

Bolo Bhi 

Elonnai Hickok

Centre for Internet and Society

Andreas Reventlow

International Media Support

Academic Alternates

Molly Land

UConn Human Rights Institute 

Arturo Carrillo

The George Washington University Law School

Investor Alternate 

Sara Nordbrand

Church of Sweden